

# Mauritius

# Tax overview

Corporate Income Tax	15%
Personal Income Tax	20%, progr.
Gift Tax	None
Inheritance Tax	None
Wealth Tax	None

## **Legal System**

The legal system in Mauritius is based on the French Napoleonic Code and English Common Law.

# **Territorial Taxation Regime**

Mauritius applies the tax principle of territoriality for individuals, and income tax is levied on Mauritian source income only, and foreign sourced income which is remitted to Mauritius.

## **Corporate Income Taxation**

Corporations incorporated in Mauritius, and foreign corporations with centrally managed or controlled from Mauritius, are taxed on their worldwide income at 15%.

#### **Personal Income Taxation**

Mauritius resident individuals are taxed on Mauritius local source income at progressive rates up to 20%. A solidarity tax of 25% will apply on income over MUR 3MM.

#### **Anti-Avoidance Rules**

Mauritius has General Anti-Avoidance Rules. Mauritius does not have specific Transfer Pricing and Thin Capitalization rules. Mauritius has Controlled Foreign Corporation (CFC) rules for corporations.

#### **Controlled Foreign Corporations**

A CFC is a non-resident corporation which is more than 50% owned by a Mauritian resident corporation, directly or indirectly, and which has a tax rate of 50% or less than the applicable rate in Mauritius.

A CFC is a non-resident corporation which is more than 50% owned by a Mauritian resident corporation, directly or indirectly, and which has a tax rate of 50% or less than the applicable rate in Mauritius.

# **Foreign Investment Protection**

Mauritius has agreements with a number of jurisdictions for the protection of foreign investments that provide for international arbitration in the event of nationalization or expropriation, including with Barbados, Burundi, Congo, Egypt, Kuwait, Luxembourg, Mozambique, Senegal, South Africa, Switzerland, Tanzania, United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and Zambia.

# **Double Tax Treaties (DTTs)**

Mauritius has DTTs with Barbados, Botswana, Congo, Cyprus, Egypt, Kuwait, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malta, Mozambique, Namibia, Oman, Qatar, Rwanda, Senegal, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

#### **OECD Multilateral Convention**

Mauritius is a signatory to the Multilateral Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters. The Convention requires signatories to exchange information "on request," and authorizes spontaneous and automatic exchange.

#### **Common Reporting Standard (CRS)**

Mauritius has signed the Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement (MCAA) for the automatic exchange of financial account information under CRS, has implemented domestic enabling legislation, and has a number of activated relationships.

#### **FATCA**

Mauritius has a FATCA Model 1 IGA with the United States for the automatic exchange of account information.

#### **Notice**

CISA Trust is not a legal or tax advisor and this material is for general information only.

cisatrust.com May 2025